PDA

View Full Version : Criticism of Eclipse's way of calculating initial equilibrium

iespe
05-04-2015, 10:24 AM
Hi!
I'm a student studying reservoir engineering, and as part of my master thesis I'm supposed to criticize the way Eclipse calculates the initial conditions in the reservoir. Eclipse has several ways to do this, and I guess each way has its pros and cons. The emphasis will be on equilibration, and not on enumeration and restart runs.
Do any of you have some comments or some criticism of the way Eclipse calculates initial conditions? What assumptions does Eclipse make, and what errors do these assumptions lead to, compared to reality?

Thnx!

temr
05-05-2015, 10:28 AM
Hello if you are a student then you need to read ...
All this you are asking is in the eclipse technical describtion
if you do not have this tell me and i will send you materials

iespe
05-05-2015, 10:35 AM
Yeah, thanx, I have Eclipse Technical Description available. But will you say that the emphasis should be on the capillary pressure curves?
Does Eclipse work with negative capillary pressures? Does the default method in Eclipse not take wettability variations into account? For instance, often only a primary drainage capillary pressure curve is assigned to the model, and assumed no hysteresis. If something happened in the reservoir before discovery that made the OWC raise (so there exists a paleo contact), how can you obtain equilibrium without hysteresis?

temr
05-05-2015, 12:07 PM
Read the section about initialization.
There a lot otions how you can initialise the eqile
by negative cap pressures you mean hysteris?
just read the manual dijest what you understand in the form of document
and post here for others to read

iespe
05-05-2015, 12:20 PM