http://www.onislam.net/english/reading-islam/
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Internal pressure and external pressure in pressure vessel

Thanks

Internal pressure and external pressure in pressure vessel

Dear all,

Could you please explain to me about pressure in pressure vessel, when we should apply internal pressure? and when we should apply external pressure for our pressure vessel. What the dimension of PV should be our consideration? or there are other consideration?

Thanks,
    Echo

2. # ADS
    Spons Circuit advertisement

Thanks

4.    Sponsored Links

-

Thanks
    No i'm a piping engineer, but now i should design tank with diameter 9m and high 13.5, the client want the tank based on ASME Sec VIII Div.1. I already read the ASME Sec VIII Div.1, except the wind and seismic, maybe the high also should be the consideration? or there is a high limitation to determining the pressure?

Thanks,
    Echo

Thanks
    dear eko.
    please read PV handbook for your first book, then ASME Sect. VIII for next book.

Thanks
    dear eko
    ASME Sect. VIII is only for Horizontal Vessels and not for Vertical vessels. Use API 650 for the design or IS -803

Recent Threads by deyprasen :

Thanks
      Quote Originally Posted by deyprasen View Post
      dear eko
      asme sect. Viii is only for horizontal vessels and not for vertical vessels. Use api 650 for the design or is -803
      you're wrong, read also asme bpvc sec. V111 div. 1 & 2..

Thanks

Blog Entries
      Thanks
      Tanks = API 650up to 2.5 psi design pre , which is low
      API 620up to 15 psi design pre , which is also low

Seismic and wind are treated differently in API ( See for instance appendix E in API 650 ..)
      ---------------

Now = other vessels and COLUMNS as per ASME VIII
      design pressure to determine the thickness , a bit similar to your piping in B31.3

based on = circumferential stress = P*R/ t